Ten to Follow Final Scores

Posted 2 years ago
Ascot 1st

It was an exciting final week to conclude the 2018 Flat Ten to Follow competition with top class racing from Ascot for British Champions Day.

British Champions Day attracted some of the best horses in training and it proved a stellar meeting to end the Flat Season. The day started with Stradivarius cementing himself as the top stayer in 2018. Despite having a long season, which included the £1 million bonus win, he cruised through the race but looked to be stuck in a pocket behind Flag of Honour. Ryan Moore's ride came off the rail to let Stradivarius through and he fended of a late challenge from Thomas Hobson.

Sands Of Mali caused a shock in the Sprint Stakes leaving Harry Angel unplaced at the disappointment of many players. Aidan O'Brien got on the score board as Magical produced a gutsy display to beat hot favourite Lah Ti Dar, to stop a Gosden domination on British Champions Day. It didn't take long for the Newmarket maestro to get another Group 1 win as Roaring Lion capped off a wonderful season with another brilliant display in the QEII. Despite a tricky draw, Roaring Lion went through the race well and came round the outside to swoop late and get up close home.

John Gosden then put the cherry on the cake of his Trainers Championship when Cracksman put in another wonderful display in the Champion Stakes to rout the field by 6 lengths. 

The top two in the leader board, Michael Moysey and Nicola Clarke, picked up a bundle of points in the week to cement the 1-2 and Mrs Gail Garbutt stayed on well late in the day to snatch third.

Be sure to enter our Jumps Ten To Follow Competition, entry forms are on the back of the latest magazine which will be with you in a few days time.

The full leaderboard can be found here.

Position    Name & Team Team Score
1 Michael Moysey   620
2 Nicola Clarke 580
3 Gail Garbutt (2)  560
4 Alan Wellsteed (12) 550
4 Les Frost (1) 550
6 Gail Garbutt (3) 545
7 Graham Barton (3) 525
8 Mervyn Broom (8) 515
8 David Marshall (5)  515
8 Paul Stacey (1) 515
11 David Rix